Sunday, 6 March 2011

Preview: South Africa vs England Cricket World Cup 2011 match

IN THE last one week, the English team missed two golden opportunities to secure their berth for the quarter-final spot from group 'B' in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011. First they tied with India from a match winning situation at Banglore and in the next match against Ireland at the same venue, they failed to defend 327 runs.

The Andrew Strauss-led England team started the ongoing cricket event with a six wickets victory over another European country Netherlands.
South Africa is one of the favourites in the World Cup. They are being touted as potential world cup winners because of their balanced batting, bowling and fielding abilities.

South Africa started their campaign of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 with a seven-wicket victory over West Indies. In the next match against Netherlands, the Proteas registered a 231-run victory. Their batsman AB de Villiers scored back to back hundreds against West Indies and Netherlands.
Out of the 42 ODIs played between South Africa and England, the record is in favour of South African by 23-18 (Tied 1 and No Result 2). In the past World Cups, both team have met five times, where the Proteas won three matches and the English team has won two matches. In the sub-continent conditions, South Africa has won on both the occasions.
The track at the M.A. Chidambaram stadium is good for the seamers as the bouncy wicket will help the seamers. The team, which wins the toss is likely to bowl first to take advantage of all the positive conditions.
Here are the squads of South Africa and England for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011:
South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Hashim Amla, Johan Botha, AB de Villiers (wk), JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Jacques Kallis, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Morne van Wyk (wk).
England: Andrew Strauss (capt), James Anderson, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior (wk), Ajmal Shahzad, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy.

No comments: